Asking…

Easter break has been a busy one. With less than a month before I finish college, for the year (unbelievable), I have been back and forth, on the long journey, to complete or at least near complete projects. Between that and recharging the ole body, my mind has been thinking. Which is dangerous.

Now I know and admit I’m not a bestseller, my books aren’t in the top 100 on Amazon and I don’t make money from my writing. That is life. So what have I been thinking about, what did the whole day start and end with? Changing my covers, changing my name and trying to give my words a boost that they deserve.

Let me start with changing my name.

I had this thought that maybe if I signed off my book Hidden with my real name, the book would be more accessible. Crazy but let me explain. Support, where I live, seems to only happen if the name on the book relates to a local person. Hidden is in a local shop, which is fantastic, but they have left it on the shelf and not on the table with the other local writers. So my great plan would be to replace Amelia with my name. It was then suggested to me that maybe the cover should be changed too. A complete overall. By the afternoon my head was full of plans, what kind of cover should I have, what would I do with my Facebook account and Twitter, how was I going to afford this amount of change?

See…never give me time to think!

This is where friends stepped in. One by one they gave me a verbal slap that I am very thankful for and made me see the reality.

Hidden has a beautiful cover, it was chosen because it represented Samuel, the turmoil he was experiencing and the past he couldn’t shake off. The pain in his eyes spoke the words I had written. I love that cover the moment I saw it and will always love it. There will be no change.

Next my name, well I am Amelia. The public side of me mixed with a small amount of private life. When I talk about college, well that’s very much the other side of me but I talk about it because it is my passion. My creativity expands everyday and I use my skills, as a writer, to grow there. I edit film that I have shot, storyboarded, and directed. I work with audio voice -overs, syncing with film and editing on ProTools application. I tell stories with pictures through photography, or at least I am trying too. I create websites, I am a creative person and although I am not writing novels at college, I am storytelling.  If I take Amelia away, then I will have no voice to talk to you with. So Amelia is staying.

I am privileged, extremely grateful and cannot thank the people who stepped in yesterday to make me see sense. A dear friend recommended the book The Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer and it has been inspiring.  On my Facebook page yesterday I stated that I will start asking more, something I didn’t really do. And I will. I will ask when I am in a place of doubt, for time to chat. I will ask when I am unsure of the next step to take. I will ask for a friendly coffee and to clear the dust from my brain. Oh and I will ask, when the time comes, for help when I am ready to release book 2 of Hidden.

Thank you for reading

 

*any grammar/spelling mistakes are my own

Leave a Reply

